Opened around 1850 the Belvoir, meaning ‘beautiful view’, was named after Belvoir Castle (pronounced Beaver), the seat of the Dukes of Rutland. It is known that the family owned land in the city of Bath and hence the building of the pub called after its namesake. We are very fortunate that his Grace, the present Duke, has given his seal of approval to our establishment, which can be viewed in the bar and is believed to be unique for any public house in the kingdom and is the only pub to be so named.
Over the years the pub has acquired a few ghosts to keep the locals entertained. Our regular visitors include a family who pop in to oversee the main bar whilst an elderly gentleman occupies the bench at the back of the pub. Others come and go.